Share This

NeoSystems Corporation


CMMC Scoping: Unveiling the Core of Cybersecurity Compliance 

March 20, 2024 | BY: NeoSystems
Share This

In the intricate landscape of defense contracting, the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) has emerged as a beacon for fortifying the defense industrial base’s cybersecurity posture. Central to CMMC compliance is the critical process of scoping – a systematic approach to identifying systems and assets subject to assessments. Let’s delve into the essence of scoping, emphasizing its significance, and understanding how it evolves through different CMMC levels. 

  1. Initiating Scoping Exercises:
  • For contractors, the journey towards CMMC compliance begins with comprehensive scoping exercises. 
  • Scoping is not merely a checkbox activity but a strategic process that demands a thorough understanding of the organization’s digital landscape.
  1. Determining Systems and Assets:
  • The primary objective of scoping exercises is to pinpoint the systems and assets that fall under the purview of CMMC assessments. 
  • This involves a meticulous review of the IT infrastructure, identifying components that process, store, or transmit Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) or other sensitive data.
  1. CMMC Level 1: Establishing the Foundation:
  • At Level 1, scoping lays the foundation for CMMC compliance. 
  • Contractors assess systems involving Federal Contract Information (FCI). This initial scoping phase ensures a focused and streamlined approach, setting the stage for more advanced levels.
  1. CMMC Level 2: Specialized Assets and Increased Complexity:
  • As organizations progress to Level 2, the scoping exercise takes on a more nuanced dimension. 
  • Level 2 assessments include specialized assets, reflecting the heightened complexity of security requirements. Scoping now extends beyond the basics to encompass elements demanding advanced safeguards.
  1. CMMC Level 3: Elevating the Scope:
  • Level 3 represents the pinnacle of CMMC maturity, introducing supplementary safeguards for Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI). 
  • Scoping at Level 3 reaches a zenith, encompassing a broader spectrum of assets and systems. The focus intensifies on securing critical information that holds strategic importance.
  1. Reflecting the Increasing Complexity of Security Requirements:
  • The inclusion of specialized assets in Level 2 and the expansive scope at Level 3 both mirror the increasing complexity of security requirements. 
  • Scoping becomes a strategic exercise in aligning cybersecurity measures with the evolving threat landscape, ensuring that no vulnerable point is left unaddressed.
  1. Strategic Approach to Compliance:
  • Scoping, therefore, is not a one-size-fits-all endeavor but a strategic approach tailored to the specific requirements of each CMMC level. 
  • It serves as a roadmap for implementing security controls, allowing organizations to allocate resources efficiently and prioritize areas that directly impact compliance.


CMMC compliance scoping has emerged as a linchpin – a fundamental process that sets the tone for the entire cybersecurity journey. From establishing a foundational understanding at Level 1 to embracing the complexities of specialized assets in Level 2 and the comprehensive approach at Level 3, scoping evolves with the organization’s maturity. By viewing scoping not just as a compliance necessity but as a strategic imperative, contractors can navigate the intricacies of CMMC assessments with precision, resilience, and a forward-looking approach. 


Software & Industry Partners